It’s (Almost) a New Year

Colourful 2014 in fiery sparklersHey everyone,

Sorry I have been so quiet the past couple of weeks. I was taking time to spend with my family away from the (new) blog, but I’m back and ready to start the new year off strong! With New Years being in just a couple of days, I thought I would share a little on my approach to resolutions.

In my opinion, most resolutions just don’t work. Now hang on… No, I’m not being pessimistic, so keep reading. My entire health journey was started by a resolution 2 years ago. So, let me repeat, most resolutions just don’t work. Most. However, I am a firm believer in making them. Why? Because there is a slim chance that you, yes you, have the self-control and motivation to finally make this dream of yours a reality. And with that self-control and motivation, amazing things are possible.

The fantastic thing about New Year’s resolutions is that they are completely your own. You’re basically writing your own rules to a new game– the game of 2014 which is bound to be full of excitement, joy, sadness, exploration, and self-improvement. These guidelines or aspirations that you set for yourself on January 1 have the power to dictate your mindset for an entire year. That’s pretty powerful. That’s why I am a firm believer in making resolutions that you truly believe in and wholeheartedly want to achieve. If you just make the same resolution you do every year (to lose weight, being the most common one), chances are, it won’t work. But, if you really spend time creating a goal that is specific to you as an individual, I believe that you truly do have the power to make something amazing happen.

Let me tell you a little bit about my resolution two years ago. I looked at myself in the mirror and really didn’t like what I saw. Sure, it was physical and I didn’t like my body, but it was beyond that. I truly didn’t think that the way I was acting reflected who I was or who I wanted to be. I was making choices and that display the good in me. So, I made a resolution. To change. I had no intention of diving into the health world, but that’s where I ended up and I sure am glad that I have. It has truly made the biggest difference in my life.

So, I invite you to make a resolution. A resolution that you are truly passionate about. One that you actually want to keep, not for an entire year, but for your entire life. Feel free to comment below to share your ideas, or email me! I have confidence that everyone has the power to make a change in your life–big or small.

To mimic one of my personal inspirations, Kimberly Snyder,

In love and health,

Lindsey

Leave a Reply

