The Green Smoothie

IMG_0196You’ve probably heard it in more than one place. A green smoothie is the best way to start off the day. I don’t do this everyday but having more green smoothies for breakfast is certainly one of my goals for this month. Now, if you showed me this picture and told me it was good, I probably wouldn’t believe you. But, believe it or not when I say it, this is good. Really good. And I’m telling the truth.

I have several varieties of the green smoothie, many of which are basic and nice for a traditional flavor. This one is a little unique because its secret ingredient is, well, unexpected. Cacao. Yes, the secret ingredient is cacao. The flavor is just enough to give the smoothie a wonderful richness without overpowering the “green” aspect of it. This recipe is inspired by one of my favorite bloggers from The Blonde Vegan. Now onto the recipe…

Ingredients:

Handful of ice

1/2 cup spinach

1/2 cup kale (make sure you take the leaves off from the stock– it makes blending a lot easier)

1 organic apple (I used fuji) — This can be substituted with a banana

1/2 cup raspberries

1/2 tblsp raw cacao powder

1/2 tblsp spirulina

Almond milk to desired texture

Enjoy! Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

